Senate begins probe of crude oil theft

By Deborah Peter://

Senate President, Dr Ahmad Lawan, on Thursday, constituted a 13-member Ad-hoc Committee to investigate oil theft in Nigeria and its impact on petroleum production and oil revenues. 

The composition of the panel was announced on the floor at plenary. 

Lawan named Senator Bassey Albert Akpan as chairman of the Committee.  

Members on the panel include Senators Yusuf A. Yusuf, Solomon Olamilekan Adeola, Kabiru Gaya, Mohammed Adamu Aliero, George Thompson Sekibo and Gabriel Suswam.

Others are Senators Kashim Shettima, Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi, Ali Ndume, Stella Oduah, Sani Musa and Ibrahim Gobir. 

The adhoc committee was given one month to conclude work on investigations and report back to the chamber in plenary. 


A journalist by profession and I have been in active practice for so many years. A graduate of Political Science from University of Abuja. Maried with four children.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *