Eight new appointed Supreme Court Justices take oath of office Friday‎


The eight newly appointed Justices of the Supreme Court would be administered their oath of office on Friday by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice Tanko Muhammad.

It was learnt that the event scheduled for 10am, will be held at the Supreme Court’s main court.

The new appointees, who are all elevated from the Court of Appeal are: Justices Helen Ogunwumiju (South West); Emmanuel Agim (South South); Lawal Garba, (North West); Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).

The others are Justics Adamu Jauro (North East); Samuel Oseji (South South) and Tijani Abubakar (North East).

Their appointment by President Muhammadu Buhari, following the nomination by the National Judicial Council, NJC, was confirmed on October 13 by the Senate.


A journalist by profession and I have been in active practice for so many years. A graduate of Political Science from University of Abuja. Maried with four children.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *