INEC schedule October 31 for Bayelsa, Cross River, other bye-elections


Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has scheduled Saturday 31st October, for the conduct of pending by-elections in 12 Federal and State Constituencies.

According to the statement issued by Barr. Festus Okoye, National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, on Tuesday, he said that as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Commission had earlier decided to suspend the conduct of all bye-elections until it is satisfied that the elections can be conducted in a safe and conducive environment.

“Since then, the Commission said it has developed its Policy on Conducting Elections in the Context of the COVID-19 Pandemic, revised its Regulations and Guidelines and engaged with health authorities and stakeholders on conducting elections in an environment that guarantees both credibility and public safety.” it said.

The National Commissioner stated that the Commission has scheduled all the pending bye-elections for Saturday 31st October 2020, and that by the harmonized Timetable, the Commission will give the Notice of Election on 17th August 2020 while Political Parties will conduct their primaries to nominate candidates between 24th August and 8th September 2020.

H said the submission of Forms and Personal Particulars of Candidates will commence on 9th September and close at 6pm on 13th September 2020.

INEC said the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the bye-elections has been uploaded on the Commission’s website and social media platforms.

The electoral body added that its attention has been drawn to the existence of vacancies in the following state constituencies: Isi-Uzo State Constituency in Enugu State and Bakori State Constituency in Katsina State.

He however, noted that vacancies have not been formally declared by the Speakers of the affected State Assemblies.

The constituencies the by-elections are to be conducted include: Bayelsa Central, Senatorial District, Bayelsa West Senatorial District, Nganzai State Constituency, Borno State, Bayo State Constituency, Borno State, Cross River North Senatorial District, budu State Constituency and Cross River State.

Others are: Imo North Senatorial District, Lagos East Senatorial District, Kosofe II State Constituency, Lagos State, Plateau South Senatorial District, Bakura State Constituency, Zamfara State and Ibaji State Constituency and Kogi State.

The Commission implored concerned stakeholders, particularly political parties to take note of the timelines in the schedule and strictly adhere to them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *