Akeredolu wins Ondo APC primary election, with 2,458 votes


Governor Rotimi Akeredolu has been declared the winner of the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress, APC in Ondo State, with 2,458 votes.

Akeredolu, who is also the incumbent governor of the state defeated his closest rival, Chief Olusola Oke and six other aspirants in the primary; they are Sola Iji, Isaacs Kekemeke, Olaide Adelami, Mrs Jumoke Anifowose, Nathaniel Adojutelegan and Bukola Adetula.

About 3000 delegates from all 18 local governments of Ondo State, participated in the indirect primary held at International Centre, The Dome, Akure.

In the result announced by Kogi State Governor, Mr Yahaya Bello who is also the chairman of the governorship primary election committee, Akeredolu garnered 2,458 votes, while his closest rival Chief Olusola Oke, SAN, won just 262 votes to come second.

The incumbent won in all the local government areas.

”This is to satisfy that Akeredolu Oluwa having scored the highest numbers of votes cast is here by declared the winner,” Bello stated.

He will now fly the flag of the APC in the 10 October governorship election.

In his acceptance speech, Akeredolu appreciated the electoral committee and the delegates for the free, fair and credible primary election.

Akeredolu also thanked all the aspirants and urged them to support him to win the war ahead of them and make Ondo State a sunshine state.

See the results below:

Total numbers of accredited voters – 3,016

Total Votes cast – 2,793

Valid votes 2,760

Invalid votes- 33

Candidates results:

  1. Abraham Olusegun – 0
  2. Adelami Olaide Owolabi – 4
  3. Adetula Olubukola Olarogba – 0
  4. Dr Adetulega Nathaniel Olumuyiwa – 4
  5. Akeredolu Oluwarotimi – 2,458
  6. Anifowoshe Olajumoke – 2
  7. Awodeyi Akinseyinwa Akinlola – 1
  8. Iji Olusola Joseph – 9
  9. Kekemeke Isaacs -19
  10. Odimayo Okunjinmi – 0
  11. Oke Olushola Alex – 262
  12. Oyodele Ifeoluwa Olushola – 1


A journalist by profession and I have been in active practice for so many years. A graduate of Political Science from University of Abuja. Maried with four children.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *