C/Rivers Council polls: PDP floors APC, wins all LGCs


Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, floors All Progressive Congress, APC as it won the 2020 Local Government election in the 18 councils and 196 electoral wards of Cross River state.
The election, held on May 30 in all council areas of the state, was contested by the All Progressive Congress, APC; Labour Party, LP; Young Progressive Party, YPP; New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP and the PDP.
Declaring the result at a press briefing on Sunday in Calabar, , Chairman, Cross River Independent Electoral Commission, CROSIEC, Dr. Mike Ushie said that PDP won in all the 18 councils of the state.
Ushie said the PDP won in Akamkpa; Akpabuyo; Bakassi; Calabar Municipality; Calabar South; Etung; Ikom; Obubura; Odukpani; and Yakurr LGAs.
He said the party also won in Obanliku; Ogoja; Bekwarra; Obudu; Yala; Biase; Abi; and Boki councils.
Ushie said: “CROSIEC does not generate result. All the results we announced today came from the field. We only declare results and issue the Certificate of Return.
“The issuance of a certificate of return will be on June 2, unless otherwise announced,” he said.
The Chairman, who thanked journalists for their patience, said that results from some of the LGAs arrived late due to the terrain of those areas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *