Breaking: Kaduna House of Assembly elect new speaker


Kaduna state House of Assembly, has elected a new speaker barely an hour the former speaker, Abdullahi Shagali resigned.

The new Speaker is Hon. Yusuf Ibrahim Zailani, is a strong member of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

Zailani, who represents Igabi West Constituency in the Assembly, was the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly until his election to lead the House on Tuesday.

Also, Hon Mukhatar Isa Hazo, representing Bassawa Constituency has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker.

Both of them have been sworn-in by the Clark of the Assembly.

The former Speaker, who represents Sabon-Gari Constituency in the Assembly, officially submitted his resignation letter to clerk of the House Tuesday morning.

Ideal posts learnt that members of the House had started collecting signatures to impeach him before he eventually bowed to pressure and resigned.

Chairman, House Committee on information, Hon. Tanimu Musa confirmed he submitted his resignation letter.

Shagali’s offence warranting the alleged plan impeachment was yet to be disclosed as at the time this report was filed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *