INEC deregisters 74 political parties ahead 2023 elections

By David Ochuma

Ahead of the 2023 general election, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has deregistered 74 political parties as the commission left only 18 political parties from the 92 parties that were in existence during the 2019 elections.

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, made this disclosure on Thursday at a news conference in Abuja.

Yakubu asserted that with the new decision, Nigeria now has 18 political parties, according to the INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, at a press conference in Abuja.

He said 75 parties did not satisfy the requirement but one went to court, adding that the Booth Party, which registered after 2019, would continue to exist.

According to him, “The 18 parties that scaled the hurdles are: Accord Party, Action Alliance, African Action Congress, African Democratic Congress, All Progressives Congress, All Progressives Grand Alliance and Allied Peoples Movement, Labour Party, New Nigeria Peoples Party, National Rescue Movement, Peoples Democratic Party, Peoples Redemption Party, Social Democratic Party, Young Progressives Party, and Zenith Labour Party”


A journalist by profession and I have been in active practice for so many years. A graduate of Political Science from University of Abuja. Maried with four children.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *